Place de l'église
66190 COLLIOURE
FranceShow the telephone number
Regarding
The church is currently closed for renovation.
The old church of Sainte Marie in the old town, already partially destroyed during the 1642 war between France and Spain, was completely demolished in 1672 on the orders of Vauban to build the Glacis du Château.
It was not until 1684 that the new church was built. The outer gallery was added in 1725. Despite its austere exterior, the church boasts an exceptional wealth of interior architecture, in particular the altarpiece by the Catalan artist Joseph Sunyer, carved in wood and covered in gold leaf. The stones of the bell tower show the stages in its construction.
Spoken languages
FrenchPass Patrimoine - Heritage passno










